10 Things You’d Rather Not Know About Me

To me, being vulnerable is the most beautiful thing a human can be. If you don’t know who Brené Brown is…LOOK HER UP.  She has some serious truth bombs for you. She speaks a lot about vulnerability especially in her book, Daring Greatly. READ IT.  Not being scared to be exactly who you are can be freeing. Being transparent about your flaws and even your strengths, can really open up some mega doors for you.

On the other hand, being truly vulnerable can be terrifying.

With all the social media and the keeping up with the Jones (more like keeping up with the Kardashians) mindset, it seems that there is less and less vulnerability in the world. To be honest, I don’t really have a solution to this…but i do know that change starts with you and me. SO for the sake of being vulnerable I’m going to share 10 things with you that I’d rather not have anyone know..laced with some quite embarrassing photos of me. Here we go.

  1. I never wear socks. That’s right…even in my sneakers and rain boots I’m just chillin with bare feet underneath. Gross I know. to make it worse, when I do actually wear socks it’s usually with sandals. Sue me! blog 3
  2. I am deathly afraid of lightening…so much so that when it is storming, I hide underneath tables or call my mom crying. Always have and probably always will.
  3. I have trust issues. It’s always been hard for me to trust people. When I do learn to trust people, sometimes it’s a little too much and I don’t give my loved ones room for mistakes. If someone does break my trust…it’s extremely hard for me to ever trust them again
  4. I litter. I’m sorry to all you environmentalists/decent people reading this. I have had a bad habit of throwing trash out the window of my car since high school. On the bright side my husband tries to stop me from doing it so I’m getting better about waiting until I’m around a garbage can..blog 1
  5. I still listen to Hannah Montana and old school Hillary Duff songs on a regular basis. “Everybody makes mistakes..”
  6. I struggle with body image. There I said it. I hate my body a little bit. That is super embarrassing and scary to admit to other people, but it is true. BUT I’m working on it-my body and my body image.
  7. I don’t have a style. I love clothes, accessories, and shoes. BUT I don’t have a certain style. Sometimes I buy these fancy, elegant blouses. Other times I go to the mall and only go to “FANZZ” to get a bunch of football t-shirts. Sometimes I dress Skater, sometimes Boho. It’s not because I haven’t found my style yet. It’s because my personality doesn’t just fit in one category. I like a little bit of everything, so that’s how I dress. Though, I do panic that people look at me and my non-specific style like I’m just trying to fit in or that I’m a poser.blog 2
  8. I’ve peed in the parking lot of “RC WILLEY” and it was caught on a surveillance camera. There’s nothing more to say…it happened and I regret it but it will forever make me laugh (and probably the security guards too)
  9. I get MEGA anxiety when driving in the car with other people. So much so that I will sometimes cry or yell at the driver. It’s the worst and I’m not sure why it happens.blog 4
  10. I have an eternal double chin. I have weird jaw problems that changed my face shape and made me have this constant double chin no matter how fit or skinny I am. If you ever see a picture of me without it…it’s because I tried really hard for it to not make an appearance lol.

There you have it…10 things that you could have gone your whole life without knowing and would have been just fine. 10 things that I would have rather not ever shared. Now that this will be out there in the cyberworld and whoever wants to read this can, It’s a little bit scary. It’s also a little bit liberating. This simple post probably won’t do much to make the human race more vulnerable. But it helped ME be more vulnerable. I hope we all can one day realize it’s okay to share the broken and embarrassing parts of ourselves. As Brené Brown would say, “What makes you vulnerable, makes you beautiful.”

So next time you pull up next to me at a stoplight, just know that I’m probably jamming to Hannah Montana, yelling at the driver to drive more careful, and looking out for any clouds that might turn into a storm.

With love,

Lidabug

“Vulnerability is not winning or losing; It’s having the courage to show up and be seen when we have no control over the outcome. Vulnerability is not weakness; It’s our greatest measure of courage.”

Brené Brown

2 thoughts on “10 Things You’d Rather Not Know About Me

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

